Optimizing the Stack Template

My working stack, that is able to connect to the instance, has the following design template:

Overview of Design Template -No adjustments

My first focus in refining this stack is to remove any objects that are useless due to not being connected in the system.

This includes two EC2-route tables that aren’t attached within the VPCs, and two of the three elastic IPs, as they were also not necessary.

The updated template is as follows:
Updated Design template

I had originally thought that that the unattached security groups could also be removed from the VPCs, but when I attempted to rebuild the stack, there were dependency errors that forced me to put the security groups back into the JSON script.

My next step was to personalize the stack. This has been done by renaming the stack’s instance. I renamed it to “StackInstance” for easy identification.
EC2 renamed-Stack

My final attempt in optimizing the template, was to organize the stack instance to automatically connect with the elastic IP. This was done by using the following JSON script from: AWS::EC2::EIPAssociation

{
“Type”: “AWS::EC2::EIPAssociation”,
“Properties”: {
“AllocationId”: String,
“EIP”: String,
“InstanceId”: String,
“NetworkInterfaceId”: String,
“PrivateIpAddress”: String
}
}

This however, was unsuccessful as I couldn’t determine what was required for AllocationId, and so I have left it as a manual set-up.

That was every further adjustment done upon the CloudFormer template.

Leave a Reply

