Connecting to the Stack’s Instance

Now that the stack’s instance is at a lower charge rate, I will try to connect to the t2.micro instance.

My first attempt resolved in the following error:

003 Still not able to access _Error

The first thing that I noticed, was that I didn’t have a public IP attached to the instance.
003 CFTemplate EC2 Instance Info

When I looked into the elastic IP section of the EC2 service, there were none there. As these are important in allowing me to connect to the RDGW instance, I added the JSON script for elastic IPs into the CloudFormer Template that I was using. The reason that they weren’t there, was because I had accidentally left them out during the CloudFormer template stack creation process.

When I ran the CloudFormer stack again, the RDGW instance still didn’t have a public IP, however, the elastic IPs had been created, so it was only a matter of manually associating the IP to the instance.

I then tried to connect again, but the connection still failed, with the same error response showing.

I considered then, that it may be an issue with the security groups attached to the stack’s VPC. My initial response was to adjust the JSON script as set all of the security groups’ ingress IPs to 0.0.0.0/0. This action was taken because I wanted to make everything open as a means of determining whether or not the failure to connect was due to the security groups. My next attempt to connect was still unsuccessful, which determined that it was not a security issue. Because this was ruled out, I replaced the security group IPs back to their original addresses for best practice purposes.

My next consideration was to utilize my other CloudFormer template that only had the single VPC in its design. This was to determine whether there may have been a CloudFormer template construction issue that was resulting in the connection failure. This however, was not the case as the single VPC template also failed to connect.

My final attempt, was to change the WiFi connection that I was using. This is because NMIT has to potential networks, both with different firewall settings, and the connection that I use has been known to not allow a remote connection to occur. This also, was unsuccessful, as was my attempt with my home network.

With all of these potential connection errors having been ruled out, I sought help from my classmates as to the design template of their successful stacks, as this would enable me to compare my stack’s design template and see the difference in design that was causing my connection error. While helping me with providing their design template, one of the classmates suggested that I try create a new CloudFormer template from the Microsoft’s Quick Start, Scenario 3, and create the stack to be completely open to any RDP IP addresses.

I did as he suggested, and during the creation of the initial stacks from that are based from scenario 3, and set the Network Configuration for ‘Allowed Remote Desktop Gateway External Access CIDR’ to 0.0.0.0/0.
005 Specify Details NS AZ_Options

Once the stack results were organized through the CloudFormer, I ran the new template, removing any of the errors in the JSON script that were causing the stack to rollback. Once the stack was complete, I attached an elastic IP to the instance, and attempted to connect to it. The result was successful.
01 ADDS RDP Success

The previous failures were due to a discrepancy from the remote desktop gateway external access CIDR that had been set-up with the creation of the stacks prior to CloudFormer. Once that had been resolved, the connection was available.

Leave a Reply

