Budget Update: 04/06/2017

As it is the start of a new month, there will be two different items discussed in this blog. The first is my AD-DS budget for last month, and the second is my non-credit billing from the month.

Active Directory Budget.

A few days ago, I received an email indicating that one of my AD-DS alarms had been triggered:

AD DS Alarm State

This alarm is for my 10% forecast alarm, which indicates that my anticipated cost for this project was larger than the current expenditure trend. Despite this, I still looked into my budgets and billing information to determine where the expenses have occurred.

The AD DS budget is as follows:

AD DS Budget

I have provided multiple filters for this budget, so the billing information is important in understanding which service has influenced the budget forecast.

The two services that are being used are the EC2 service and the KMS service.
The EC2 Billing information is as follows:
EC2 Billing

The KMS service is as follows:
KMS Billing

As the KMS service is only being used in the North Virginia region, this is not part of the AD DS budget expenses. (This is elaborated upon in previous budget reports.)

The EC2 billing information can be processed into a spreadsheet, which more succinctly displays the costs involved for this project, and can be displayed graphically.
AWS Budget SpreadsheetAWS Budget Graph

The large spike involving the EBS-SSD provisioned storage is likely due recent activity on the AD DS cloud template, in which I was periodically creating and destroying the stack.

As of current, I am satisfied with the project’s budget progress due to its low expense despite having originally required the higher-priced t2.large instance in the stack’s creation.

 

Monthly non-credit billing
Due to it being a new month, my AWS account has sent a billing invoice for the month prior.
Billing Statement_LI

In following the available hyperlink, my billing information is brought up. It shows that these charges are from my budgets and tax.
Billing Statement Reason

Although I am unhappy with being charged, rather than the fee being removed from my available credits, I consider it worthwhile to keep in consistent knowledge of the expenses involved from each project.

Leave a Reply

