Adjusting the CloudFormer Template

Once the AWS CloudFormer template has been created, it needs to be run through the AWS CloudFormation ‘Create Stack’ option. This has been done by copying the CloudFormer JSON script into the Notebook++ program, and then uploading the Notebook++ file during the ‘Select Template’ portion of the Stack creation settings.

000 Upload File

Once, the template has been chosen, it requires a name, and the option of a tag. For my stacks, they have been numbered in regards to how many iterations of the script I have run through ‘Create Stack’.

010 NewReview

During the creation process of the stack, the created events can be viewed.

005 Create_In_Progress

The initial template stack contains errors that cause the creation process to rollback, and fail to complete the stack’s creation.

006 Rollback Error

The method used in removing the errors, was to find the first ‘CREATE_FAILED’ event for the stack, and attempt to solve this event failure based upon the information provided in the right-hand column of the event.

For my first CloudFormer script, came across the following problems, which I attempted to solve.

Adjusting the CF Script

  • DestinationCidrBlock Empty
    • For each event fail that referenced this error, I sourced the IPs and their respective Cidr from the initial Microsoft ‘Scenario 3’ stack creation settings, and placed them into their corresponding Routes based upon the route description.
  • Missing NetworkInterfaceID
  • Unresolved Dependencies
    • The unresolved dependencies were specific to two different routes. As I couldn’t determine a resolution to this error, I saved a copy of each of the routes, then deleted them.

These errors comprised the bulk of my event failures, and throughout each iteration of the stack, more errors would evolve. Most of these errors were derived from the network interface JSON script that I had added to the CloudFormer script. I eventually came to conclusion, with the help of others, that I should re-attempt the Microsoft Quick-Start ‘Scenario 3’ template through CloudFormation and Cloudformer, which would provide me with a clean template to work upon again.

The persuasive reason behind this action was the knowledge that this project was not intended to focus on the intricacies of the JSON script, which I had been doing in my attempts to successfully fix my first CloudFormer script.

One thought on “Adjusting the CloudFormer Template

Leave a Reply

