AD in CloudFormation: JSON files

When starting up scenario 3 (mentioned in my previous blog), the CloudFormation service offers the option of ‘View/Edit template in Designer’. This provides me the JSON script for the template, and a physical diagram.

CF JSON and PhysMod

My first attempt in understanding and manipulating the template was by playing with the JSON scripts. I was playing around with the template, which contained links between different stacks. This made it harder to adjust the code as I needed to constantly determine where the script was pointing.

In the end, I was unable to modify the code and keep it in working order. However, this endeavor did help me gain an understanding of the code, for its format, and what AWS services it contains.

This information should provide me greater understanding in how to adjust the template that I will gain through my next method of using CloudFormer.

Leave a Reply

